blackbirdonline journalFall 2018  Vol. 17 No. 2
New to Blackbird?
Editorial Policy
Editorial Staff
Contact Blackbird
Search / Archives

Bookmark and Share Share

Founded in 2002 as a joint venture of the Virginia Commonwealth University Department of English and New Virginia Review, Inc.

Copyright © 2018 by Blackbird and the individual writers and artists

ISSN 1540-3068



Recent Awards for Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Blackbird contributor Christine Schutt’s collection of short stories Pure Hollywood: And Other Stories was named one of the New York Times Book Review’s 100 Notable Books of 2018.

Erasures, an exhibition by Blackbird contributor Rosanna Oh and graphic artist/filmmaker Loide Marwanga, is on display at the Queens Historical Society.

Blackbird contributor Amina Gautier received the 2018 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story.

Blackbird contributor Saara Myrene Raappana was awarded a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board for 2019.

The Unmade World, by Blackbird contributor Steve Yarbrough, was named in Kirkus Review’s Best Fiction of 2018.

Bottle Fly, a drama by Blackbird contributor Jacqueline Goldfinger, won the 2017 Yale Drama Series Prize.

Blackbird contributor Claudia Cortese’s debut poetry collection Wasp Queen won Southern Illinois University’s Devil’s Kitchen Reading Award in Poetry.

The House in Scarsdale: A Memoir for the Stage, a drama by Blackbird contributor Dan O’Brien, won the 2018 Los Angeles Literary Award for Drama.

Blackbird contributor Terrance Hayes’s poetry collection American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin was a finalist for the 2018 National Book Award for Poetry. Natasha Trethewey, another Blackbird contributor, was longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award for Poetry.  

Blackbird contributor George Ferrandi was one of the recipients of the 2018 Makers Muse Artist Award. Her work appeared in Blackbird v13n1 and v15n2.

The North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame has inducted Blackbird contributor Jill McCorkle.

Blackbird contributor Paisley Rekdal won the 2018 Narrative Prize.

Recent Books by Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Henk Roussouw
Fordham University Press

Mars Poetica
Wyn Cooper
White Pine Press  bug icon