blackbirdonline journalSpring 2019  Vol. 18 No. 1
New to Blackbird?
Editorial Policy
Editorial Staff
Contact Blackbird
Search / Archives

Founded in 2002 as a joint venture of the Virginia Commonwealth University Department of English and New Virginia Review, Inc.

Copyright © 2019 by Blackbird and the individual writers and artists

ISSN 1540-3068



Recent Awards for Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Blackbird contributor Camille Dungy has been awarded a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Blackbird contributor Kwame Dawes was one of eight recipients chosen for the 2019 Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes.

The Now Dark Sky, Setting Us All on Fire by Blackbird contributor Robert Krut was awarded the 2018 Codhill Poetry Award by the Codhill Press.

Blackbird contributor Margaret Gibson has been named Connecticut’s poet laureate beginning April 2019.

Blackbird contributor Cecily Parks’ poem “The Rio Grande” was selected for the 2019 Poetry Society of America Lucille Medwick Memorial Award.

A monologue from Blackbird contributor Yasmine Rana’s new play At the Barre will be featured in the Best Women’s Monologues of 2019.

The MacDowell Colony has awarded fellowships to Blackbird contributors Victoria Chang and Amina Gautier.

Blackbird contributor Paisley Rekdal was a recipient of the Academy of American Poets Laureate Fellowship for 2019.

Blackbird contributor E. Ethelbert Miller’s poetry collection If God Invented Baseball was named a Black Caucus of the American Library Association Honor Book for 2019.

Poetry collections American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin by Terrance Hayes and Still Life With Two Dead Peacocks and a Girl by Diane Seuss, both previous Blackbird contributors, were finalists for the 2018 Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

Spring Up Everlasting by Blackbird contributor William Woolfit won the 2018 Adrienne Bond Award for poetry.

Blackbird contributors Diane Seuss, Erika Meitner, and Terrance Hayes were all named finalists for the 2018 National Book Critics Circle Awards.

Blackbird contributor Kai Carlson-Wee’s poem “Cry of the Loon” won Best Narrative at the 2019 Holden Village Film Festival.

Recent Books by Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Alias City
Carol Frost
MadHat Press

Any Other Place
Michael Croley
Blair/Carolina Wren Press

Every Human Love
Joanna Pearson
Acre Books

Kwoya Fagin Maples
University Press of Kentucky

The Now Dark Sky, Setting Us All on Fire
Robert Krut
Codhill Press

Scholarship Boy
Larry Palmer
Paul Dry Books

The Twenty-Ninth Year
Hala Alyan
Mariner Books

What Penelope Chooses
Jeanne Larsen
Cider Press Review   bug icon