blackbirdonline journalFall 2022  Vol. 21  No. 2
New to Blackbird?
Editorial Policy
Editorial Staff
Contact Blackbird
Search / Archives

Founded in 2001 as a joint venture of the Virginia Commonwealth University Department of English and New Virginia Review, Inc.

Copyright © 2022 by Blackbird and the individual writers and artists

ISSN 1540-3068


  Subscribe free for
  periodic emailed
  Blackbird updates.


Recent Awards for Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Traci Brimhall was named Poet Laureate of Kansas.

Geoffrey Brock was awarded the inaugural Joseph Tusiani Translation Prize.

Geoffrey Brock won the 2021 National Translation Award in Poetry.

Brian Brodeur won The New Criterion Poetry Prize.

Lauren Camp was named Poet Laureate of New Mexico.

Leila Chatti’s poem “Pearl Ghazal” received a Pushcart Prize.

Hernan Diaz was longlisted for the 2023 Joyce Carol Oates Prize for his book Trust.

Hernan Diaz’s book Trust was longlisted for the 2022 Booker Prize.

Hernan Diaz won the 2022 Kirkus Prize in fiction for his book Trust.

Silas House was awarded the Duggins Prize for Outstanding Mid-Career Novelist.

L.A. Johnson won the Arts & Letters Rumi Prize for Poetry.

Ada Limón was named Poet Laureate of the United States.

Margaret Mackinnon won the Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Prize for her book Afternoon in Cartago.

Caroline McCoy won the Cold Mountain Press Annual Book Contest for her book Museum of Hard Times.

Marilyn Nelson was awarded the 2022 Wallace Stevens Award from the Academy of American Poets.

Catherine Pierce was named an Academy of American Poets 2022 Poet Laureate Fellow.

Roger Reeves and Jenny Xie were longlisted for the 2022 National Book Award in poetry.

Diane Seuss was awarded the 2022 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry for her book frank: sonnets.

Simon Shieh’s book Master was selected for Sarabande Books’ Kathryn A. Morton Prize.

Simon Shieh was winner of the 2022 Kathryn A. Morton Prize in Poetry.

A.E. Stallings’ book This Afterlife was named a Best Poetry Collection of 2022 by The Washington Post and The Times (UK).

Corey Van Landingham was a finalist for Narrative’s Fifth Annual Poetry Contest.

Kevin Wilson’s book Now Is Not the Time to Panic was named a Best Book of 2022 by Time.

Wendy Wimmer won the 2021 Autumn House Fiction Contest for her collection Entry Level.

C. Dale Young was awarded a 2021 Gold Award for Poetry by the Northern California Publishers and Authors organization.


Recent Books by Current and Previous Blackbird Contributors

Intimacies, Received
Taneum Bambrick
Copper Canyon Press

Openwork and Limestone
Frances Boyle
Frontenac House

Some Problems with Autobiography
Brian Brodeur
Criterion Books

Leila Chatti
Bull City Press

A Is for Asian American
Cathy Linh Che
Haymarket Books (2023)

(Solve for) X
Katharine Coles
Turtle Point Press

Remembering Lethe
Brian Culhane
Able Muse Press

Hernan Diaz
Riverhead Books

The Dug-Up Gun Museum
Matt Donovan
BOA Editions

Lark Ascending
Silas House
Algonquin Books

Sara Eliza Johnson
Milkweed Editions

Edgar Kunz
Ecco (2023)

Ordinary Psalms
Julia B. Levine
Louisiana State University Press

The Hurting Kind
Ada Limón
Milkweed Editions

Mothman Apologia
Robert Wood Lynn
Yale University Press

Afternoon in Cartago
Margaret Mackinnon
Ashland Poetry Press

A Story that Happens: On Playwriting, Childhood, & Other Traumas
Dan O’Brien
Dalkey Archive Press

Patricia Smith

This Afterlife
A.E. Stallings
Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Now Is Not the Time to Panic
Kevin Wilson

C. Dale Young
Four Way Books  bug icon